romance

Vicious by L.J. Shen

♥♥ 5 Vicious Stars ♥♥

Okay, so this is easily one of my top reads this year. I don’t know what it is; it’s a little dark, it’s really fucking hot, and it’s a long-time coming. Vicious (yes, that’s what he goes by) is a dark, brooding, alpha male. He’s so hot, and even though I finished this a couple days ago, I actually want to read it again just for him. He’s got a troubled past and is incredibly possessive of Emilia (aka “Help”). Just the fact that he calls her “Help” gives you a good idea of how screwed up he is. He’s a dominating jerk, he’s an asshole. And yet…you just can’t help but get wet for him.

There were times where I was slightly uncomfortable with Millie and Vicious’s relationship; after all, it’s kind of unhealthy with how obsessed they are with each other and how far Vicious goes to keep her under his thumb. But despite this, I couldn’t help but love them together; and to be honest, they really do belong to each other.

Ten years ago, Millie met Vicious when her parents started working for his family as the housekeepers. She overhears a conversation that immediately puts her on Vicious’s shit list, and yet, he still desperately wants her (which causes much angst and sexual tension between them). So, when he finds her in the present working as a waitress at a bar, he offers her a job as his PA. Strapped for cash and trying to make ends meet, she accepts. This, of course, leads to them screwing in the office and her ex’s bed (just read it!).

I absolutely loved the intensity in this book. Vicious and Millie have some serious chemistry going on, and Vicious’s plans for revenge for those who’ve wronged him (as well as his plans for claiming Emilia) just add a whole extra layer of hotness. I love Emilia’s style and her strength to stay true to herself despite her circumstances. I just love these two together, and I’m officially fangirling over the author. ♥

One thought on “Vicious by L.J. Shen

Leave a comment