contemporary · romance

Where I Need To Be by Jamie Hollins

♥♥ 3.5 Fresh-Start Stars ♥♥

This was a fun read, but for some reason, I just didn’t click with it that much. It was cute, and I liked the characters, but it was just a little hard for me to connect to the hero/heroine. Overall, the story was still really cute and worth the read if you’re in the mood for something light and sweet.

Megan is starting her life over after finding her real estate mogul husband cheating on her, and she’s starting over with basically no money to her name. She meets James Foley after buying a clunker car that needs some serious work. And let me tell you, James is a hot mechanic. He’s tall, ripped, and a single dad. I’m all for the whole hot single dad, so this was a bonus for me. 😉

James is so much more than just a hot mechanic, though. He’s trying to raise his son by himself and run his car shop after his wife became addicted to heroin and destroyed their marriage. Megan is James’s son’s teacher, and to be honest, this part of the plot made me nervous. I’ve never been a fan of the teacher-gets-with-parent-of-the-student romance but Ms. Hollins played (wrote?) the part very well. I really liked Megan’s character; she’s independent, committed, and strong.

She’s a second-grade teacher who really hasn’t struggled in life at all until her divorce. She’s nervous to tell her family about her relationship issues, and this is one of the main things that bothered me in the book. It just seemed like this was something that turned out to be a major issue in the book and it really didn’t have to be.

Megan and James were super cute together, though. They’re both not in their twenties, which I don’t see that much, but I really liked it and you can really see their maturity. Their relationship takes some time to develop into something serious, but the timeline is believable and authentic. Oh, and the sexual tension was great and the sex scenes were smokin’ hot.

 

Leave a comment